Skip to Content

Sidney Ribaux

Job title: 
Cofounder, executive director and spokesperson
Bilingual speaker – climate change and sustainable development
Email: 
info@equiterre.org

Sidney helped found Equiterre in 1993 and chaired the Board of Directors until 1998. Since then, as executive director, he has been involved in all of our activities, from development, to implementation, to funding.

His passion for urban planning led him to chair the Montreal Regional Council on the Environment from 1996 to 2003. He also participated in efforts to increase funding for public transit in Quebec, as well as in Canada's ratification of the Kyoto Protocol.

While in charge of energy intitiatives at consumer protection group Option consommateurs from 1992 to 1998, Sidney helped set up a national energy-efficiency program for people with low incomes. 

In 2007, he received a fellowship from Ashoka, an international organization that recognizes and supports social entrepreneurs. In 2009, he received the first Canadian Award for Environmental Innovation from the Royal Canadian Geographical Society. He is also an honorary fellow of the Royal Canadian Geographical Society.

Sidney also spearheaded and chairs the Centre for Sustainable Development, which is one of the greenest buildings in Canada, as well as a hub for social and environmental groups.  

Read his column:

Skip to Content

Sidney Ribaux

Fonction: 
Cofondateur et directeur général
Grand conférencier bilingue – Changements climatiques et développement durable
Courriel: 
info@equiterre.org

Cofondateur d’Équiterre en 1993, Sidney en a présidé le conseil d'administration jusqu’en 1998. Depuis, en tant que directeur général, il participe à l’élaboration, à la mise en oeuvre et au financement de l’ensemble des stratégies et projets de l’organisme.

Passionné d’urbanisme, il a présidé le Conseil régional de l’environnement de Montréal de 1996 à 2003 et a contribué aux efforts de coalitions citoyennes pour le financement du transport en commun et de la ratification du protocole de Kyoto par le Canada.

Entre 1992 et 1998, alors responsable du dossier de l’énergie pour Option consommateurs, Sidney a contribué à développer un programme national d’efficacité énergétique destiné aux personnes à faible revenu.

En 2007, il a été reçu fellow d’Ashoka, un organisme international qui reconnaît et soutient les entrepreneurs sociaux. En 2009, il a reçu le premier Prix canadien de l'innovation environnementale remis par la Société géographique royale du Canada. Enfin, la Société géographique royale du Canada vient de l’admettre au sein de son Collège des fellows.

Sidney préside également la Maison du développement durable, située dans le Quartier des spectacles à Montréal, qui est maintenant l’un des édifices les plus écologiques au Canada, en plus d’être un lieu de rassemblement d’organismes sociaux et environnementaux.

Lire sa chronique :